News \ News \ Scene

The next 'DJ-Kicks' comes from Matthew Dear

Texas-born DJ's contribution to the series is out on 27 January

2016 Dec 02     
2 Bit Thugs

Mix includes cuts from Pearson Sound, Thatmanmonkz, Simian Mobile Disco and, of course, Audion

The next installment in !K7's long-running DJ-Kicks mix album series will come from Ghostly International and Spectral Sound label boss Matthew Dear.

Born in Texas but a resident of Detroit since his teens, Dear's career now spans over 15 years, nine albums and countless singles and EPs, whether under his own name or in his various other guises: Audio, False and Jabberjaw. He's also released several mix albums, including contributions to the Body Language, Boiler Room, fabric and RA series, but this is his first time out for DJ-Kicks.

The album will feature a couple of unreleased tracks from Dear himself - one under his own name, one as Audion. "I always have a lot of unreleased music laying around," he says. "Those I included on here seemed to fit. A mix like this is always a good place to showcase my own productions, but I didn't want to oversaturate it with my own stuff."

The album's out on 27 January, and the full tracklist is as follows:

01. Nils Frahm - Ode
02. Matthew Dear - Wrong With Us [DJ-Kicks]
03. Mahal - Ongaku [HVL Remix]
04. Monsieur Georget - Double Lune [Third Child Boomer Mix]
05. Kreon - Silo Sol
06. Caserta - Ricky [Thatmanmonkz Remix]
07. Gwilym Gold x Doc Daneeka - Lust For Sale [MGF Mix]
08. Smoke - Nuutri
09. Decius - Bread & Butter
10. Italojohnson - ITJ10B1
11. Vin Sol - Instinct [Matrixxman Remix]
12. Groovesh - Glowing
13. Duff Disco - Feed The Horse
14. Dudley Strangeways - Hallam
15. Alex & Digby - Angolan Rumble
16. Gary Sloan & Clone - Harmonitalk [Alex & Digby Edit]
17. Randomer - Rendell Pips
18. Markus Enochson - Hot Juice Box
19. Simian Mobile Disco - Staring At All This Handle
20. Pearson Sound - XLB
21. Soulphiction - Sky So High
22. Audion - Live Breakdown
23. Audion - Starfucker
24. Audion - Brines
25. DJ Khalab & Baba Sissoko - Kumu






Tags: Matthew Dear, Audio, DJ-Kicks, !K7, Pearson Sound, Simian Mobile Disco, Markus Enochson, Dudley Strangeways, Italojohnson