News \ News \ Scene

Denney next up for Nubreed

'Nubreed #12' is out on Global Underground on 28 September

2018 Jul 31     
2 Bit Thugs

Denney's mix features cuts from Kerri Chandler, Layo & Bushwacka!, Catz N' Dogz and many more

Teesside native Denney has been named as the latest up-and-coming DJ to contribute to Global Underground's long-running Nubreed series of mix CDs, with his 12th installment due to land on 28 September.

Inspired by the DJs he saw play at Middlesbrough's famous Sugarshack club night, Denney got behind the decks from an early age. Before his teens were out he'd been a DMC finalist and become a regular in the clubs of the northeast UK, but his career really began to take off when he became a resident at Back To Basics, landed an Essential Mix slot on Radio 1 and released the single Ultraviolet on Hot Creations. That breakout single was followed by further releases on acclaimed labels such as Crosstown Rebels, Jackathon, Saved and Knee Deep In Sound, while his DJ career has continued to go from strength to strength, with an Ibiza residency at Steve Lawler's Viva Warriors and guest slots at elrow and in Miami, as well as various festival dates.

But even for such a fast-rising star, being selected for the Nubreed series is quite an honour, and we're told that Denney accordingly dedicated three whole months to curating and compiling the mix, which he says is "the most personal and emotive selection of music I’ve ever made. I thought the Essential Mix was tough... this was another level again!"

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1. Andy Cato - 7AM Drop
2. Timmy P - Harv
3. Kled Baken - If Ya Don’t Know (James Dexter Remix]
4. Artes - Bright Side [Lauren Lo Sung Remix]
5. Prunk - Sexy Brasil
6. Son Of Raw - A Black Man In Space [Sax Mix]
7. Dee Montero - Aeon [Drums Mix]
8. Joeski & DJ Chus - El Amor [A Capella Do Amor]
9. Danny Howells - Isolar
10. Kerri Chandler - Checkmate
11. Tim Weeks – Illuminate
12. Brian Cid - Pitch Black
13. Chicola & Sahar J - They Made Me Do It
14. Made By Pete ft. Jem Cooke - So Long [Audiojack Remix]
15. Denney - Genena

1. Jerome Hadey ft. Qendresa - I Wonder [Nineties Remix]
2. Chus & Ceballos - The Sun [Drums Mix]
3. Layo & Bushwacka! - Delta Ahead [Maher Daniel Remix]
4. Audiojack - Reverie
5. Re.You & Floyd Lavine - Humanity [LAWLER Remix]
6. The Soul Man - Dirty Waltzer [Denney’s Exclusive Nubreed Edit]
7. Serge Devant - Frenzy
8. L.O.R.D.I.E - Alpha [Darius Syrossian Remix]
9. Franky Rizardo - I’m Feelin
10. Catz ’n Dogz - Elixir [Jonathan Kaspar Remix]
11. John Creamer & Stephane K - I Wish You Were Here [Omid 16B Revisit Remix]
12. Jacobi - Hov Areq
13. Eelke Kleijn - The Calling
14. Richie Blacker & Loeca - Angel





Tags: Denney, Nubreed, Global Underground, Back To Basics, Viva Warriors, Essential Mix, Hot Creations, Crosstown Rebels, Jackathon, Saved, Knee Deep In Sound, elrow, Radio 1, Sugar Shack