News \ News \ Scene

Dimitri From Paris vs Salsoul

Hard-to-find DJ mix and re-edits to be reissued

2017 Aug 09     
2 Bit Thugs

With apologies to anyone who spent £100 buying the original on Discogs...

Dimitri From Paris's much sought-after Salsoul Mastermix is to be reissued on double CD, double vinyl and digitally on 15 September.

Dimitri From Paris presents Salsoul Mastermix was initially released by Octave Lab as a Japan-only CD product in 2015. It was a two-disc affair: CD1 housed a DJ mix by Dimitri consisting entirely of Salsoul cuts from the likes of Double Exposure, Loleatta Holloway, Inner Life and The Salsoul Orchestra, while CD2 was home to 10 of Dimitri's own re-edits/remixes of Salsoul classics.

Since then, copies have been trading hands on eBay and Discogs for prices approaching three figures, while a double LP of the re-edits was released for this year's Record Store Day and sold out in hours. So now Salsoul is putting frustrated collectors out of their misery, and re-releasing the original two-disc set worldwide.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

01. Double Exposure - My Love Is Free (Frankie Knuckles Knuckledusted Club Mix)
02. Inner Life - I Like It Like That (Shep Pettibone 12" Version)
03. Logg - I Know You Will (Larry Levan 12" Remix)
04. True Example - As Long As You Love Me (Walter Gibbons 12" Remix)
05. Loleatta Holloway - All About The Paper (Extended Version)
06. Bunny Sigler - By The Way You Dance (I Knew It Was You) (Unreleased Larry Levan Remix)
07. Sparkle - Handsome Man (Larry Levan Remix)
08. Rafael Cameron - All That's Good To Me (Francois Kevorkian 12" Mix)
09. Skyy - Show Me The Way (Shep Pettibone 12" Mix)
10. Funk Deluxe - This Time (12" Version)
11. Special Forces - Stroke It (Timmy Regisford & Tony Birch Mix)
12. Instant Funk - (Just Because) You'll Be Mine (Shep Pettibone Extended Club Version)
13. Aurra - When I Come Home (Larry Levan 12" Mix)
14. Vaughan Mason & Butch Dayo - Party On The Corner (Shep Pettibone Mix)
15. Weeks And Co - If You're Looking For Fun (Shep Pettibone Mix)
16. The Jammers - Be Mine Tonight (Shep Pettibone Mix)
17. The Salsoul Orchestra - Sun After Rain (Tom Moulton 12" Mix)

01. Skyy - Here's To You (Dimitri From Paris New DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
02. Loleatta Holloway - Love Sensation (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
03. Charo - Hot Love Vs. Stay With Me (Dimitri From Paris Vs. Monsieur D Hot Breaks Re-Cut)
04. Love Committee - Law & Order (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
05. Double Exposure - Ten Percent (Dimitri From Paris Original Classic Re-Edit)
06. The Salsoul Orchestra - Salsoul Rainbow (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
07. Skyy - First Time Around (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
08. Inner Life - Moment Of My Life (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
09. Love Committee - Just As Long As I Got You (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)
10. The Jammers - Be Mine Tonight (Dimitri From Paris DJ Friendly Classic Re-Edit)

Dimitri From Paris presents... Salsoul Mastermix is available for pre-order here.





Tags: Dimitri From Paris, Salsoul, Octave Lab, Record Store Day