News \ News \ Scene

Thundercat announces album #3

'Drunk' will be out on Brainfeeder on 24 February

2017 Jan 26     
2 Bit Thugs

The album features cameos from Kendrick Lamar, Pharrell and Wiz Khalifa

The third full-length studio album (not counting 2015's mini-album The Beyond/Where The Giants Are) by Thundercat will be released on CD and download by Brainfeeder on 24 February. A vinyl boxset version, featuring four red-vinyl 10-inches and photography by Eddie Alcazar, will follow on 10 March.

As befits an artist who's worked with everyone from Herbie Hancock to skate-thrash heroes Suicidal Tendencies, via Erykah Badu, Snoop Dogg and of course Flying Lotus, the 23-track Drunk features several high-profile collaborators. Kendrick Lamar, Wiz Khalifa and Pharrell guest on Walk On By, Drink Dat and The Turn Down, respectively, but perhaps more surprising is the album's first single, Show You The Way, which is out now, and which you can hear below. In a move that'll delight anyone who enjoyed Yacht Rock, this sublime slice of laidback sophisti-soul features none other than west coast legends Kenny Loggins and Michael McDonald. Smooth...

The release of Drunk will coincide with a lengthy world tour that begins in the US in February, then moves on to Europe before climaxing with four shows in Japan in late April. Here in the UK, the dates to note are 22, 23, 34 and 28 March, when the Thundercat roadshow will pull into Bristol (Thekla), Manchester (Gorilla), Liverpool (Invisible Wind Factory) and London (Heaven) respectively. He'll also be playing in Dublin on 27 March.

The full tracklist for the album is below. For the full list of tour dates, click here.

01. Rabbot Ho
02. Captain Stupido
03. Uh Uh
04. Bus In These Streets
05. A Fan's Mail (Tron Song Suite II)
06. Lava Lamp
07. Jethro
08. Day & Night
09. Show You The Way (feat. Michael McDonald & Kenny Loggins)
10. Walk On By (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
11. Blackkk
12. Tokyo
13. Jameel's Space Ride
14. Friend Zone
15. Them Changes
16. Where I'm Going
17. Drink Dat (feat. Wiz Khalifa)
18. Inferno
19. I Am Crazy
20. 3AM
21. Drunk
22. The Turn Down (feat. Pharrell)
23. DUI

Pic: B+





Tags: Thundercat, Brainfeeder, Wiz Khalifa, Pharrell, Kendrick Lamar, Michael McDonald, Kenny Loggins, Flying Lotus, Herbie Hancock, Suicidal Tendencies, Erykah Badu, Snoop Dogg, Thekla, Invisible Wind Factory, Heaven