2018 May 29     
2 Bit Thugs

Features cuts from Analog Trip, Ariane Blank, Iban Montoro & Jazzman Wax and more

Last year, Oscar Barila's Cyanide Records label released a 20-track compilation to mark their third birthday, and this reviewer raved about it. Some 12 months on - 366 days, to be precise - here comes another one, and the good news is, it's just as good as the last one.

With 20 tracks on offer totalling 2 hours and 18 minutes of playing time, it's certainly no slouch in the VFM stakes, for starters. But what tracks they are, too. From Analog Trip's  Losing Myself - a warm-up friendly affair predicated around a midtempo bass throb, looped "miss you" vox and some delicate ivories work - to Vanishing Point's Can't Break The Silence - another moody, midtempo chugger but in this case topped with an almost new romantic/cold wave type vocal - if deep, techy house grooves are your bag you'll find plenty to enjoy here.

Obviously, with 20 tracks on offer there's no room to go into each of them in detail. But to pick a few highlights, Shoes Bags & Boys co-owner Ariane Blank offers up the drifty, Ibiza-friendly At Home and the more minimally inclined Intensive; Bonetti's Deep Flavour is served up in two mixes, so you can choose from floaty, prog-tinged Deepkeen or more bumpin' and funktified James Benedict rubs; Iban Montoro & Jazzman Wax infuse Freeky Deep Day with some raw funk vibes; Sebb Junior's mix of Jamin Hernand's Everything Disappeared is a deep, sumptuous, garage-y delight; Smoothless's Groove Paradise (presented here in Queemose Remix form) takes us back to the roots with its DJ Kraze-like vocal and... well, you get the idea.

Once again, then, Cyanide have brought us a birthday comp that's well worth your time and money. Can't wait to see what they cook up for their fifth birthday next year!

Words: Russell Deeks

Release date: 25 May



Review Score: 8




Tags: Cyanide Records, Oscar Barila, Analog Trip, Vanishing Point, Ariane Blank, Bonetti, Deepkeen, James Benedict, Iban Montoro & Jazzman Wax, Sebb Junior, Jamin Hernand, Smoothless, deep house, tech house, tech-house